Roasted carrot soup with a kick!

imageRecently I’ve been feeling like eating a lot of soup and I’m not sure why? It’s not something that normally gets me excited but it’s great for a cheap lunch and it always lasts me a few days plus it’s so healthy and good for you! I felt so good after eating this soup and it was so delicious and warming even although it’s still 26 degrees outside! I’m a bit Christmas obsessed and as soon as it hits October I get all excited and I think right, weather’s getting colder, leaves are falling off the trees…time for stews, soups and hearty dishes. Time to wear beautiful cosy jumpers and soon it’ll be time to make the house all glittery and sparkly but of of course I’m not in Scotland anymore and it’s still too hot here in Italy for gillets and jumpers. Is it bad I wish it would just get cold so I can wear my winter clothes? Anyway I also love the texture and thickness of this soup but you can water it down to how you like it.

750g carrots, peeled & roughly chopped
2 sprigs of rosemary
2 large cloves of garlic, skins still on
1 tsp of turmeric
1 tsp cumin seeds
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 red chilli, deseeded and chopped
Juice of 1 lime
1 litre of chicken stock
1 medium white onion, finely chopped
2 tbsp Greek yogurt
2 tbsp olive oil

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees C. In a baking tray add the chopped carrot, garlic, rosemary and drizzle with a tbsp olive oil. Roast in the oven for 20 minutes, until soft and starting to brown. In a large saucepan under a medium heat add 1 tbsp of olive oil and the onions. Add the turmeric, cumin, cayenne and chilli and stir until soft then add the carrots and pop the garlic out their skins and add them in too, discard the rosemary. Give the carrot mixture a stir then add the chicken stock and bring to a boil for 10 minutes. Using a hand blender, blend everything until thick and smooth ( if it’s too thick add a little water until it’s to your liking ). Finally add the lime juice, taste to see if it needs any salt then serve in large bowls with a dollop of Greek yogurt. So delicious!

Leave a Reply

