A quick tuna salad for lunch…

image
So at the moment I don’t have a full time job and the job I do have is only seasonal and about dying out ( I know it is as stressful as it sounds ). So when I am at home I spend my time learning Italian, thinking of recipes and preparing English lessons which I have just started last week ( also stressful ). I like to think back to my job in Scotland working in a call centre dealing with screaming, angry customers all day. It makes this stress seem like happy stress haha, there’s so much going on and a lot to look forward to here.
I like to eat a healthy salad for lunch and a tuna salad is one of my favourites. I suppose eating healthy through the day lets me justify my ice cream at night as I watch gossip girl religiously every night at 7:20pm. Yes, I have fallen into the world of cheesy, predictable American series but after trying to learn another language all day, it’s heaven. It started because it was the only English speaking programme on but now I basically have to plan my dinner around it. Ha!
Anyway I use mediterranean flavours in this salad, sun dried tomatoes, artichokes, olives etc they work so well together and are packed full of flavour. Also since it’s just me at home in the afternoon I can buy these in jars and they will last the week, just adapting them into different salads or sandwiches. There’s not much too it, just assembling everything together. I like lunch time.

Serves 1

Rocket salad, a couple handfuls
5 sun dried tomatoes in sunflower oil, cut in half
2 fresh plum tomatoes, quartered
5/6 artichoke hearts in sunflower oil, cut in half
2 tbsp green olives, cut in half
1 small tin tuna in olive oil, drained
1 tbsp mayonnaise
1/4 small red onion, finely chopped
Squeeze of lemon
Tsp Dijon mustard
Tbsp olive oil
Salt and pepper, to season

So first things first, grab a couple handfuls of your rocket salad and place in a bowl or on your plate. Add the chopped tomatoes ( both kinds ) artichokes and olives. Add the drained tuna and onion into a separate bowl and add the mayonnaise along with a pinch of salt and pepper and mix together. Taste and set aside. Mix together in another bowl a tsp of mustard, lemon juice ( make sure this is mixed together slightly before adding the oil ) and tbsp olive oil with a little salt and pepper and pour over the rocket salad, toss together making sure everything is covered. Add the tuna and toss again. It’s done! I also sometimes add some shavings of parmesan or a soft-hard boiled egg which is also lovely.

One thought on “A quick tuna salad for lunch…

Leave a Reply

